The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the UK’s most promising future stars of film, games and television at an event hosted by Maya Jama at the global Burberry flagship, 121 Regent Street.

Take a look at the announcement video contains this year’s jurors discussing the initiative, and the very first look at the 2017 Breakthrough Brits in the video player below.

The 20 new BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry, will be supported by BAFTA over the next 12 months as they progress their careers.

The talented newcomers were selected by a jury of industry experts after a UK-wide open call for applications and nominations. Actor and Breakthrough Brits juror Will Poulter said: “I jumped at the chance to be part of the Breakthrough Brits Jury because what I love most about BAFTA as an organisation is that it isn’t just commending people for reaching a certain height in their career. They are also doing so much work to nurture talent and provide people with the opportunity to get to that level.”

At the event, actors Jenna Coleman, Joe Dempsie, Suranne Jones and Vicky McClure revealed that the BAFTA Breakthrough Brits in 2017 are:

  • Adam Vian and Thomas Vian – Game Directors
  • Anna Hollinrake – Games Artist
  • Charlie  Cooper and Daisy Cooper  – Writers/Actors
  • Chloë Thomson –  Cinematographer
  • Daniel Fountain – Game Designer
  • Francis Lee – Writer/Director
  • Henry Hoffman – Creative Director (Games)
  • Hope Dickson Leach – Writer/Director
  • Jessie Buckley – Actress
  • Josh O’Connor    – Actor
  • Kit Fraser – Cinematographer
  • Lydia Hampson – Producer
  • Mahalia Belo – Director
  • Molly Windsor – Actress
  • Olivia Wood – Games Writer & Editor
  • Sarah Quintrell – Writer
  • Segun Akinola – Composer
  • Susan Wokoma  – Actress

BAFTA-nominated actress and 2016 Breakthrough Brit Ruth Madeley (Don’t Take My Baby) said: “Being part of BAFTA’s Breakthrough Brits has been an incredible experience. The initiative has enabled me to meet so many new contacts and learn from my fellow Breakthrough Brits. I feel that my career is still only just taking off and, with BAFTA’s help, I am excited to see what the future holds.”

Since the launch of the initiative in 2013, previous Breakthrough Brits have gone on to be recognised at BAFTA’s awards ceremonies, including four BAFTA winners: Games producer Daniel Gray and game designer Rex Crowle (as part of the development teams for Monument Valley and Tearaway respectively), screenwriter Dominic Mitchell (In The Flesh) and producer Marc Williamson (The Last Chance School). Games sound designer and 2015 Breakthrough Brit Jessica Saunders also worked on the BAFTA-winning Batman: Arkham Knight (British Game in 2016).

Writer Vinay Patel, who was named a Breakthrough Brit in 2016, received two BAFTA nominations for Murdered by My Father earlier this year. In addition, actor Tom Holland, who was named a Breakthrough Brit in 2013, received the EE Rising Star Award at this year’s British Academy Film Awards.

Figures who have given support to Breakthrough Brits in the past year include: screenwriter Abi Morgan (The Iron Lady, Shame); actor-writer Amy Schumer (Inside Amy Schumer, Trainwreck); director Barry Jenkins (Moonlight); actor David Oyelowo (A United Kingdom, Selma); editor Dody Dorn (Memento, Terminator 2); Ian Livingstone CBE, co-founder of Games Workshop; producer Jeremy Kleiner (The Big Short, 12 Years a Slave); Ukie CEO Jo Twist; actress Julie Walters (Billy Elliot, Educating Rita); actress Kim Cattrall (Sex and the City); screenwriter Lucinda Coxon (The Danish Girl, The Heart of Me); producer Marc Samuelson (Arlington Road, Wilde); actor Mark Strong (Kingsman: The Secret Service, The Imitation Game); actor-writer Meera Syal (The Kumars at No. 42); game designer Mike Bithell (Thomas was Alone, Monstermind); producer Rebecca O’Brien (I, Daniel Blake, The Wind That Shakes the Barley); games writer Rob Yescombe (The Division, Alien: Isolation); director Robert Eggers (The Witch); actor-writers, Sharon Horgan (Catastrophe, Pulling); cinematographer Sharone Meir (Whiplash, Coach Carter); journalist Stacey Dooley (Stacey Dooley Investigates); game designer Tim Schafer (Broken Age, Psychonauts); and cinematographer Urszula Pontikos (Marcella, Humans).

This year’s initiative is also supported by The Langham London and Audi UK.


Follow: @MissLisaMarie_B

Follow: @filmandtvnow